CHLA Awards

CHLA offers a number of awards that HLABC members may be eligible for each year.

HLABC Awards

HLABC offers or is affiliated with two awards for library and library technician students who are interested in health librarianship.

  • The David Noble Prize for excellence in student health information research (open to library or library technician students at UBC, UFV and Langara)
  • The C. William Fraser Prize for performance in health librarianship and related coursework at the School of Library and Information Studies at UBC.

Past Award Winners


  • David Noble Prize: Megan Sorenson and Jennifer Garrett


  • CHLA-ABSC Login Canada Student Paper Prize: Sandra Barron, Sumanjit Manhas
  • CHLA-ABSC Emerging Leader Award: Elisheba Muturi
  • David Noble Prize: Sandra Barron


  • CHLA-ABSC Login Canada Student Paper Prize: Sue Bradley
  • CHLA-ABSC Emerging Leader Award: Devon Greyson
  • CHLA-ABSC Flower Award for Innovation: Shannon Long
  • C. William Fraser Prize: Daniel Hooker